St Anne’s Academic Review

 

The St Anne’s Academic Review (STAAR) is an annual interdisciplinary publication, entirely run by students, featuring research, academic opinion pieces, creative writing, poetry/prose, reviews and other writings that aptly showcase the college’s intellectual activity of the year.
Scroll down for our archive!

 

NEWS

 

We are now opening the Call for Abstracts for inclusion in St Anne’s Academic Review (STAAR) 2018! Submission are open to all college members, whether in the MCR, JCR or SCR.

 

If you are interested in submitting a piece, please write a 250-word abstract summarising its content. We will consider all article types included in Our Scope (see below).

This year’s issue will feature a special section under the theme of ‘New Horizons’. We will be accepting pieces for both the themed and unthemed section; please specify in your application for which section you wish your article to be considered.

 

How to submit

 

Please include in your application:
1. piece’s title
2. 250-word abstract
3. article type
4. a brief outline of your background in this area (for subject review articles)
5. indication of whether you wish to be considered for the themed section ’New Horizons’.

 

Email your application to alexandra.jamieson@st-annes.ox.ac.uk by 5pm on the 5th of February 2018.

 

We will notify successful authors by the 19th of February, and you will have until the 22nd of April (start of Trinity term) to write your first draft. Your article will then go through the editorial review process and our editors will make their final decisions on your piece in April.

 

For any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Alex.

 


Our scope:

 

STAAR features articles of original research and review articles from all disciplines written by St Anne’s members (JCR, MCR, SCR). Its goals are to facilitate the dissemination of scholarly knowledge between St Anne’s students and to the wider public. Pieces are judged on academic quality and not on subject area.

 

We will consider the following articles types:

 

Research article – a piece containing original results or findings from your research (e.g. Bidgood 2015)

 

Subject Review article – an unbiased piece reviewing your subject area (e.g. Meachon 2017)

 

Opinion piece – an article presenting your personal reflections on a particular issue or item of news (e.g. Hicks 2015)

 

Book/Film/Theatre review – a review article of a recently published or produced book, film or production; up to £50 will be contributed towards the purchase of books or tickets for the 3 best review ideas. (e.g. Nicholson 2014)

 

Do let us know if you have another article type you wish to be considered for publication.

 


Editorial Committee 2017-2018:

 

Editor-in-chief
Alexandra Jamieson (alexandra.jamieson@st-annes.ox.ac.uk)

 

Editorial Board

 

Humanities
David Hopen (david.hopen@st-annes.ox.ac.uk)
Eirini Fasia (eirini-erasmia.fasia@st-annes.ox.ac.uk)

 

Social Science
Alison Walsh (alison.walsh@st-annes.ox.ac.uk)
Shuchi Vora (shuchi.vora@st-annes.ox.ac.uk)

 

Science
Oliver Adams (oliver.adams@st-annes.ox.ac.uk)
Rodrigo Leal-Cervantes (rodrigo.lealcervantes@st-annes.ox.ac.uk)

 

Film/Theatre/Book reviews
Erin Hales (erin.hales@st-annes.ox.ac.uk)

 


Latest Issue

The latest issue of STAAR is now available for download:
STAAR 7 – 2017

 

Previous Issues:

STAAR 6 – 2015

STAAR 5 – 2014

STAAR 4 – 2012

 

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us at staar@st-annes-mcr.org.uk.